Community Cares Committee of Halton

This committee consists of volunteers from throughout the Halton Region community that care and want to help make a difference with your support and commitment. This committee was incorporated in December 2011 and has since been active in organizing the Halton Heroes Gala. Our first four events have been a huge success and we are pleased to present to you the 5th Annual Gala on Friday, September 16, 2016.

The sole purpose is to establish a new endowment fund making sure we are there for our Halton Regional Police Service families.

In Halton Region we depend on the Halton Regional Police Service to protect us in times of crisis and need. We can’t prevent every act of violence or injury. But together we can offer our officers and civilian staff peace-of-mind.

Right now, there is a gap in funding when one of our Police Service members is seriously injured or killed. By establishing an endowment fund to be administered by an independent board, our Halton Regional Police Service members and their families will have short-term financial assistance, assistance that is not currently available.

This committee subsequently established a Board of Directors as follows:

Graham Barnes

Dorothy Borovich

Wendy Gzechowski

Jack Moreira

Ryan Nisbet

Keith Strong

The Board of Directors is supported by an Advisory Committee which is made up of:

Nishan Duraiappah – Deputy Chief, Halton Regional Police Service

Rob Todd – President, Halton Regional Police Association

Kerry Halcovitch – Executive Assistant to the Chief of Police, Halton Regional Police Service

Wendy Gzechowski – Administrative Assistant, Regional Community Mobilization Bureau, Halton Regional Police Service

For detailed information on each of the volunteers listed above, please go to the Meet Our Directors tab.